What Does It Mean?

One of our first assignments each year is for students to take a look at the North Carolina Standard Course of Study for 7th Grade Science and come up with an image to represent each of the six goals.  I call the activity “What Does it Mean?” and it gives us a good launching point to discuss some of the things we’ll be learning for the year. Here are a few pictures of some of this year’s “What Does it Mean?” responses:

2 comments so far

  1. Beth Raines on

    Todd,

    This is an awesome idea! Students learn what they are responsible for learning during the year and make sense of the goals with pictures and words. Love this idea.

    Beth

  2. Janelle Wilson on

    I love this idea! I think I may adapt it to use with my students next year for our Georgia 6th grade science standards. Plus, it will be a great way to get them started in their interactive science notebooks. Thank you so much for the great ideas!


Leave a comment